Skip to main content

Vote in the 2018 Local Government Elections

Vote in the 2018 Local Government Elections
22 October 2018

Election Vote Banner 2

The Electoral Commission SA will distribute postal ballot papers to voters for the 2018 November local government elections from today.

Individuals who are on the state (House of Assembly) electoral roll or have completed an enrolment for the supplementary roll, will receive a voting pack in the mail between Monday 22 to Friday 26 October 2018.

“The community elects council members every four years and we are pleased that 22 members of our local community have put their hands up to nominate themselves as candidates to be part of local government in our city,” City of Mount Gambier CEO Mark McShane said.

Three candidates nominated for the position of Mayor of the City of Mount Gambier, and 19 candidates nominated for eight Councillor positions.

Candidates, in ballot draw order, are:

Mayoral Candidates

Lynette Martin

Andrew Lee

Mark Jones

Councillor Candidates

Perri-anne Rasmussen

Paul Jenner

Jason Virgo

Kate Amoroso

Ben Hood

Sonya Mezinec

Allen Smith

Craig Foster

Khun Dee

Ian Von Stanke

Hanna Persello

Frank Morello

Christian Greco

Josh Lynagh

Don Pratt

Steven Perryman

David Burt

Leon Rigopoulis

Max Bruins

To find out more about each of the candidates and what they stand for, go to the Local Government Association of South Australia’s ‘find your candidates page’”.

“Local democracy is important and councils have a far greater influence on communities than most people appreciate. Make a difference by participating in your council election.”

“Voting for council elections is by postal ballot. Refer to your Postal Voting Guide enclosed in the ballot pack on how to complete your ballot material.”

Most electors will receive one voting pack. However, people who have additional properties or entitlements in different elections may receive more than one voting pack.

“Voting in council elections is completed by posting your voting papers. Once you have completed your ballot papers, place them in the reply paid envelope provided and seal it. Mail it so that it reaches the Returning Officer by close of voting.”

Votes must be received by the Returning Officer no later than the close of voting 5:00pm Friday 9 November 2018.

“If you don’t get your envelope in the post on time, you can place it in the ballot box at the Council office at the Civic Centre, 10 Watson Terrace Mount Gambier by close of voting.”

You can find more information about how to complete and return your vote to ensure it is valid on the Electoral Commission of South Australia (ECSA) website: or visit for frequently asked questions (FAQs) for voters.

For further information please contact City of Mount Gambier Manager Executive Administration Michael McCarthy on 8721 2576 or

Media contact: City of Mount Gambier Media and Communications Coordinator Sharny McLean on 8721 2401 or

Content authorised by City of Mount Gambier CEO Mark McShane, 10 Watson Terrace, Mount Gambier SA.